3DMark03 Scores

Status
Not open for further replies.

snowpunk

In Runtime
I am new to overclocking my video card and just started playing with 3DMark03 today. I got my scores back from many different tweaks that I made over many hours today.

So great, I get this score, but I have nothing to compare it to. Can anyone tell me what a good score and a what a bad score might be?

All my tweaks were producing scores in the 4000's. I think my highest was in the 4500 range. Compared to posts from a year ago for my particular video card, that score seems great, but I don't know if it can hang with today's standards.

-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice, 2.0 Ghz @ 2.4 Ghz
-eVGA e-GeForce 6200 AGP 128-bit 256 Mb (369/611)

well, it's not baaaad, persay, but it's not really that great. Your video card is the clear, clear, undeniably clear bottleneck. I ring up between 5500-5800 depending on how much of an OC'ing mood I'm in, but I have an x700. I'm not bragging, cause my card is by no means great, but I'd really feel good about my gaming if I landed in the 7000's. That would be all the power I'd need at the moment.

Ryan

What he means is that 4,500 is a good score for your system, no higher should be expected though. I used to get around 4,800 with my old Socket A setup - with a 6800 GT.

However, synthetic benchmarks like 3DMark, Aquamark et all should not be equated to actual run time performance in games. In other words, don't take it too seriously ;)

I just unlocked the 4 locked pipelines using Rivatuner. This card is brand new and I'm very suprised it is using the old chip that allows me to tweak it. Anyways, with the pipelines unlocked my best 3DMark score is 5183 at 348/598.

Those setting seem low, and what I don't understand is when I move either settings up higher my score drops.