popped my overclock cherry

Status
Not open for further replies.

snowpunk

In Runtime
Last week I finished building my new system, and today for the first time I attempted to overclock. I need some help though. Since I am new to this please correct any mistakes I've made. The only resources I had for doing the things I did were from online websites.

Let's start off with my system:
-Gigabyte GA-K8NSC-939 Mobo
-AMD Athlon 64 3200+
-1Gb Dual PC3200 RAM
-Zalman Copper (kick-a$$) CPU cooling fan

-Prime95 and CPU-z Software

So here is what I did:
-dropped my HT Frequency to 3x
-changed the DRAM speed to 166

I started off with increasing my clock speed in 10Mhz increments. When I hit 30 I did not pass Prime95's test so I increased my CPU power from 1.4 to 1.5. When I moved up to 40 I did not pass so I bumped up the voltage from 1.5 to 1.6 and failed after 11 minutes of the test. Throughout all the testing the CPU temp never got over 100F.

The AMD Venice core should allow me much more play than just going from 2.0 Ghz to 2.3 Ghz without failing the test. From what I have read I should atleast be able to get up around 2.6Ghz.

Please help this newbie out!!!!

Try setting a divider for your ram, like set its max allowed speed to the 2nd highest speed, and it should help a little with stability. And now most Venice cores are not as good as the ones that came out early..

the early venices did those insane clocks...as time goes by they will start to produce worse and worse results...mine maxes out at 2.575GHz

Nubius said:
the early venices did those insane clocks...as time goes by they will start to produce worse and worse results
Just like my san diego :( May I ask why they do that? I mean, they are the same CPU, right???

Well, you still have some wiggle room on the vcore, but I wouldn't go above, 1.65-1.7.

The RAM shouldn't have anything to do with it, with the 166 divider, the RAM is still below stock speeds.