Installing windows pro problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

schulz269

Daemon Poster
OK i found my windows xp pro and i tried installing it on the system i jsut built and well i format the Hd and then it loads the setup files on it also then it restarts then i click on the portion of hte hd which i wanted to install windows on and then in the next screen it says that there was a /window already installed in the computer and it gives me a menu saying l=delete and so on so forth and then i deleted it and then it installed the setup again and then it restart and i jsut keep getting to that part is there something i am missing (this is my first build and haveing some problems) I am open to any ideas.

First i thought it was maybe my Hd wasn't good so i got another one and it still does the same stuff so it aparently isn't the HD that is bad but its jsut not getting past that point. Please help me. Thanks in advance

Well, I'm not seeing how there's a problem. When you delete the partition, it then RETURNS you back to the screen asking where you want to install windows. There should be your hard drive with 99.9% of your partition, and an 8kb partition for some technical formatting info. Select your large partion that is not formatted, and then format it, and windows will install on it. I don't see how there's a problem unless you're not telling us something.

Ryan