Brand new amd 2600+ OVERHEATING

Status
Not open for further replies.

noodlelegs

Solid State Member
i just had a local computer store build me a custom computer... amd 2600+, 512mb ram, 250gb hd, dvdrw, tv tuner, etc...

and every once in a while i hear the CPU overheat alarm go off a little.... what do i do????? i am just a novice computer user... i dont overclock or do anything crazy to make the cpu overheat. what should i do???

maybe they overclocked it to make it look like a 2600+ look at the chip and see if it has any writing on it about what kind of chip it is. Maybe someone o/c the 2400+ or 2500+ and you do not have the proper cooling. I doubt it. Your fans probably junk, go by a nice thermeltake and u'll be set

if i take it back to the people who sold it to me, shouldnt they give me a better fan? how much is that thermalcooling stuff? maybe i should just pay them extra to put better cooling in. any help is appreciated. thanks

anywhere from 20-40 canadian will get u a decent thermeltake. You can install it your self. Um,,, i dont think they would give u better cooling because they probably bought the chip retail and put the retail heat sink on which is suppost to be ok for stock speeds. Iv found amd retail heat sinks just dont cut it though.

Yeah, I'd take it back. Let them know the problem. Also, before you do that, take a look at the temp when the alarm goes off. If it's above 60C, that's way too high to be normal. Complain to them that you don't want a crappy cooler and demand a new, better cooler, if that really is the problem. They should give you one for free if you complain enough. Throw in that online sites offer good quality Hs/fans...

Another more simple solution may be that the thermal paste is not in place, a thermal pad was not used, or they did not use an AMD certified CPU cooling fan,,,

I like thermaltake, or vantec(magnetic tip fans) ,, whisper quiet,, and quite a whirlwind of power