Help replacing Emachines T1840 MB?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MadScientist

Beta member
Howdy All,

I'm pretty savy with building ground up comps but this is my first time tackling a brand box. I have a friend's Emachines T1840 with a clearly cooked MB. Other than the stock MB which is overpriced and out of stock, what are my alternative? Can I go with any MicroATX board? I don't believe my friend uses the box for much more than standard web surfing and office apps. Budget is probably a higher priority. I'm not sure of the cause of the burnout, caps are cooked next to CPU.

So my questions are:

Recommended MB?
Any chance of conflicts in an Emachines case?
Recommend replacing PS or any other components?

I understand NewEgg is about the best source for MB's but I'll take other suggestions.

Thanks for all your advice.

Eric.

Copied this off the website:

Intel® Celeron® Processor 1.80 GHz (w/128KB L2 cache & 400MHz FSB)
Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition
Intel® 845GL Chipset
128 MB DDR (PC2100)
40 GB HDD 1
40x12x40 Max. CD-RW Drive; 16x DVD Drive; 3.5" 1.44MB FDD
Intel® Extreme Graphics 3D (845GL shared)
AC '97 Audio
10/100Mbps built-in Ethernet
56K ITU v.92 ready Fax/Modem
Keyboard, Wheel Mouse, Stereo Speakers
6 USB 2.0 ports (2 on front), 1 Serial, 1 Parallel, 2 PS/2, Mic-In & Head Phone jack on front, Audio-In & Out, 3 PCI slots (2 available)
7.25"w x 14.125"h x 16"d
AOL 3 month membership included, click here for details

Do Emachines present any issues for fit with aftermarket boards? Any features that make this board stand out? I'm trying to better understand the selection process. Any thoughts on replacing PS or other components? Thanks.