school needs help stopping hackers

Status
Not open for further replies.

liquidmonkey

In Runtime
i work as a math teacher (90%) and computer guy (10%) at a school and on our computers we are using windows XP which is run from another company on a network. in order to access the computers you must login and your own password. i'm sure you know the login screen. without this you cannot access anything OR so i thought.
kids have been getting into the computers, reseting the BIOS passwords, putting in Power Up passwords and such, one kid even installed a totally different version of windows. this is a problem and i would like to know a technical solution on 1) how to stop the kids from doing this and 2) how are they able to do this?
i'm no hacker / cracker and only work on the computers at the school 2 hours a week so i don't have a lot of time to deal with these problems in depth.
can someone out there please help me?

First of all, Your are obviously on a network, which version of windows server are you using? Secondly, who handles the Active Directory side of it? You should be able to change the user setting through the Group Policy(GPO). As far as the bios setting are conserned, i would go through and set the passwords for the bios, maybe even a power on password, limiting the bios setting that they can fiddle with. Please provide a little more information on the server systems you are running on, and how the groups are set. Thanks