My computers soooo sloowwww & checking disk space!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chanell

Solid State Member
I've just joined and am so happy that I've found this forum! You see I ain't a real whizz kid and looking forward to learning a bit!

My computer is Windows 98 SE and is it currently soooooo slooowwwww!!

At times it kind of freezes a bit. I checked the space left in C: Drive and I've only used a little there. I then checked in Win98 SE (D:) and the space is all used. Is this normal??? I got this by double clicking 'My Computer' then right clicking on the icon, then properties!

Can anyone help me - can't you see I'm a newbie!! lol

Hi Chanell. Welcome to TF :)

When you say "soooooo slooowwwww!!", what exactly is running slow? The whole system, or just certain programs. Is this slowdown a recent occurrence?

It may also be helpfull to post some of your system specs...such as processor type/speed, type and amount of ram, etc.

The D drive is the disk drive, and it will show the spaced used on the disk that is inserted, or show zeros if no disk is in the drive. This is normal.

Yeah, the whole system is running slow and it seems to be only recently as well!

I am using Internet Explorer 6.0.
AMD Duron 750
20 Gig Hard Drive
128 Ram

Nix said:
Drop the windows - problems solved.

Great solution Nix....why didn't the rest of us think of this!

**Chanell**
Can you post a little more about your system...
Right-Click on My Computer and then click on properties.
Post as much information off of this screen as you can. Hopefully we can point you in a better direction.

Nix did mention about defragmenting your drive.
It's been a while for Windows 98 but Click Start > Programs > Accesories > System Tools > Disk Defrag. You'll be given a choice as to which drive. Choose the C: drive. Before running the defrag tool though....be sure to close all applications running and turn your screen saver off.