computer for my son

Status
Not open for further replies.

lareid

Solid State Member
Hi,
I'm looking to build a gaming computer for my son as a b'day present (he'll be 13). He plays Battlefield 1942, Sims2, Command&Conquer...and wants to play Battlefield2, Doom3, Call of Duty 2. I have never built before and just browsed through this forum. Does this sound right / will it all work well together? Is there anything else I need? It would be nice if it is quiet, too - is that a concern with my choices?

Monitor, keyboard and speakers aren't necessary. My intent is to make certain he can play the games he likes and have room to upgrade, I do not need "the best" and it will only be for games, simple school work and some web surfing.

-1 Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
-1 DFI nF4 SLI Infinity Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard
-1 ENERMAX Whisper II EG565P-VE FMA(24P) ATX12V 535W Power Supply
-1 AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3700BNBOX
-1 OCZ Titanium Edition 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model OCZ4001024ELDCTE-K
-1 Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA NCQ ST3160827AS-RK 160GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive -
-1 NEC Black IDE DVD Burner Model ND-3540A - OEM
-1 Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Value SB0400 8 (7.1) Channels PCI Interface Sound Card -
-1 Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound - OEM
-1 Microsoft Windows XP Home with SP2 - Retail
-eVGA 256-P2-N376-AX Geforce 6800GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail Model #: 256-P2-N376-AX

Thanks in advance-

Sir I don't see a video card in there. I am pretty blind and am not very good at finding things so im sorry if i just missed it.

If you aren't trying to get the best of the best, you can get a Nvidia 6800 Gt and that will run fine for all those games.

As far as I know BF2 is most demanding out of those games.
And that setup will run it fine.