Which processor/MB?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LancerZero

Baseband Member
Here's the deal: for various and sundry reasons, I'm having to replace my computer's motherboard and processor, most likely due to my putting high-drain hardware in it and trying to run it off the cruddy 250W PSU it came with. Lesson learned.

Anyway, I'm a broke college student, so I want to go cheap. I've decided to go with newegg.com, since I've heard mostly good things about them, and they're cheaper than CompUSA.

Here's an AMD Sempron I'm considering: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819104210

A very attractive Celeron D: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819112190

As for motherboards, there are so many choices . . . I'll leave it up to you guys to recommend something for my needs, if you would.

Here's what I do with my machine:

-Office-type tasks (word processing, spreadsheets, that stuff)
-Digital image editing (nothing overly heavy-duty - I swear by the [link=http://www.gimp.org/about/]GIMP[/link] since I can't afford Photoshop)
-Lots of streaming audio
-Games. The most graphically demanding thing I run right now is Warcraft III - I also own Unreal Tournament 2004, but I never play it because it runs too slow.

Point is, I'm not overclocking, not doing anything really heavy-duty - but I do want something that will be solid, reliable, and perform well over the years.

And before anyone suggests it, no, I can't afford the extra 200-300 bucks for an all-new box. Besides, I hate the thought of wasting all the perfectly good parts in my current comp.

Thanks in advance! :)

digital image editing is quite demanding graphics wise, you should probably save for a pretty high end system

LancerZero said:
Anyway, I'm a broke college student, so I want to go cheap. I've decided to go with newegg.com, since I've heard mostly good things about them, and they're cheaper than CompUSA.