First time OCing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Flying-Squirrel

In Runtime
Hey all, I have never done OCing before so all help is appreciated. I am sure I will say many things that sound really stupid so please explain stuff. Here are my system specs:

AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor Operating frequency 2.2 GHZ

DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard

CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory

Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA NCQ ST3160827AS 160GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive

Antec PERFORMANCE TX TX1050B Black Steel Server Computer Case 500W ATX12V v2.0 Power Supply

eVGA 256-P2-N538-AX Geforce 7800GTX 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card

I use fan cooling.

I have read different posts giving me good general information but I would really like it if some people who have similar systems could give me more specific advice about how much I should attempt to overclock my CPU and RAM. Also advice about what programs I should download to test/monitor speed/monitor temp would be a help. Thanks a bunch I look forward to people's ideas. :p

You should start by reading the AMD OC'ing sticky top to bottom.

Another suggestion, get very familiar with your BIOS. Read the relevant sections of the manual.

After that, post any specific questions you have.

Ya i was lookin at all the stickies. I am a bit worried that I won't be able to OC well because of my Corsair Value Select RAM since it is only DDR 400 and I read that I shouldn't change my ratio to anything other than 1:1

Any tips for good incriments to try increasing my FSB / HTT speed?

Well yeah, that valueram will not OC that far, but it is not crucial to stay at 1:1 like you said. You should still try to get to your max CPU even if you have to use dividers.