more network cards = faster?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ekÆsine

Fully Optimized
was wondering if you have 2 computers connected to a 100Mbps switch and you install a second 1Gbps network adaptor on both computers and connect the 1Gbps NIC's together directly with a crossover cable what happens?

how does the OS decide which network card to use and how it is used.

would the speed be combined 100+1000=1100Mbps?

can you install two 100Mbps network cards on both computers and combine them somehow to make file transfers faster? i notice when tranfering files the upload/ send speed is not even close to reaching the 100Mbps maximum of the switch.

i've seen "bridge connections" option in winXP, i think it connects multiple connections together, but does it also speed things up?

I'm no expert at networking, but top speed will be limited to the slowest speed device in the chain.
If everything is a gigabit speed, then, in therory, all devices work at the highest, MOST RELIABLE, speed. Reliability depends on the numbers of errors present, etc.
If you have gigNICS and a 100Mbs switch, 100 will be the fastest possible transfer rate.
If two gigNICS are linked via crossover, then, in therory, you could have a maximum transfer of 1GB/sec.
Transfer speed becomes limited to the data bus speeds inside the computers, too. So, I would think that, unless you have a computer with a very fast FSB and CPU, you can't get a truly gigabit transfer rate.
Even with CPU's that are over 2GHz, the FSB's are topping out at 800MHz. And data rates for harddrives are at 133Mbs.
So, even if the car can go 200MPH, if the road is bumpy, you'll slow down to keep from getting your head smashed into the roof!