PC for Poker - What do I Need?

Status
Not open for further replies.
poker player said:
Hi there,

I am a professional poker player and as such, play a lot of poker online. I am about to make a switch over to playing almost full time online, in order to stay home more, so I need to get myself a new Desktop PC. It's main use will be for Poker, as I am a Mac guy and will still use my Mac for most everything else. Having said that though, as this is my profession I want to get the best system I can as this is not an area to skimp...

After a few weeks of getting advice from friends and searching around the internet I had deduced that rather than buy something off the shelf it is better to build it for what you want - I am not techincally minded, but had decided to get a system from Monarch Computer, as they only charge a build fee of $49 which seems reasonable, and then I can get what I want exactly.

As I said this will be used mainly for internet poker, websurfing, running some poker tracking software, and possibly for recording TV etc. I plan on getting 2 large monitors (probably the 24" Dell's) and will be playing as many as 8 games at the same time, plus other web activity. I have no interest in gaming such as Doom etc so that is not an issue. Poker will be its main use.

I just really want to make sure I get something that can handle running multiple monitors well, as I will be running 2 large ones.

What would be your advice - should I just buy a Dell or something off the shelf., or is it worth me building one?

I dont mind spending the cash, but dont want to get stuff I dont need, as I would rather spend the extra cash on monitors or something for my Mac.

I have been getting obsessed looking at all the options, and had a system all picked out at Monarch with state of the art gear - Dual Core 64/7800GTX graphics etc etc I have now been told I am going crazy for what it will be used for.

What should I do? Please help me :)

I saw you on Doctor Phil.