Suggestions for new gaming comp?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mcrockett

Beta member
Hi--

I am a first time builder and was wondering if you could take a look at my proposed system before I spend the cash :D

ThermalTake Tsunami Series Aluminum ATX Mid-Tower Case with Clear Side, Top USB, Firewire and Audio Ports - Black

Ultra / X-Connect / 500-Watt / ATX / Dual 80mm Fan / Titanium-Color / UV Clear Sides / Modular Power Supply

AMD Athlon 64 FX-57 / 1MB Cache / 2000MHz FSB / Socket 939 / San Diego Core / Processor with Fan

Gigabyte K8NXP SLI nVidia Socket 939 ATX Motherboard / Audio / PCI Express / Dual Gigabit LAN / USB 2.0 & Firewire / Serial ATA

Mushkin HP Dual Channel 2048MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory (2 x 1024MB)

BFG GeForce 7800 GTX OC / 256MB DDR3 / PCI Express / SLI / Dual DVI / HDTV / Video Card

Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Gamer PCI Sound Card

Western Digital Raptor 74GB Serial ATA 10K / 8MB / S-ATA-150 / OEM / Hard Drives ( 2- Pack )

Vision 16x DVD-ROM / Black / Cyberlink Software / DVD Drive

Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition OEM

Any advice is appreciated.
Thanks,
Matt

Looks good dude. Great gaming system you have there :) I love that motherboard, and well everyone is going to disagree with me and say for you to get the DFI but I think it's overpriced and well, since you're a first time builder, I;m guessing your not an overclocker. But then your mushkin RAM tells me otherwise. If you are an overlcocker, you're not going to like the Gigabyte motherboard because they spent more tim on features than overclockablility. The DFI is more overclockable, and many others will advise you to get it.

If you have enough money to get an FX-57 CPU, I'd advise you to get an X2 4800 dual core from AMD. Just my personal prefernce as the FX series is overpriced and it will outdate itself quickly.

Apart from that, it looks good. How much is it going to cost you?