Ok Noob here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

SupaSportS-10

Solid State Member
1) How is a good way to keep my computer running smooth and fast?

2) What are some maintenace i should keep up on?

3) What are cookies? Are they good or bad? What do they stand for exactly?

4) My CD-Rom does not read my game CD's or any kind of CD's at all. I thought it could be that the lens was dirty.So i bought a memorex cleaning disk. It didnt even read that. So i took it to bestbuy to have it checked out since i have warrenty on it. They said they are going to replace the CD rom. So they did and it still dont read the disks. WTF is going on? What should i do?

I'll leave it with those questions and hopefully get some good answers. Well atleast they are answers.

1. Using Anti virus protection, don't use IE, download and use Firefox, Download and use Adware SE personnel also spybot search and destroy also spywareblaster.
use disk clean up and disk defragmenter often.

2.pretty much the same as one, but you could also clean case of dust with an air can every once and a while.
Also delete all files u don't need anymore.

3.Cookies are simple stored data about your online activity so websites u visit often load faster, they aren't bad but disk clean up should clean them up for u if u run it.

4. Try a differen't IDE ribbion cable, your IDE controller could be bad, you could have a DMA/IRQ/I/O conflict with another device and CD-rom.

to test the CDrom, do you have a bootable CD? ie, windows XP install cd... if you do, then put that in to see if it's OS or hardware related. There is a chance that the OS is having a problem. If it boots with the CD then you will know it's OS related. If not, then it's something on the hardware. Check the IDE cable and the jumpers for correct setup. is it the only device on the IDE channel or is there something else. is the other working?

Good luck

Ste said: