Hello Ram Problems

Status
Not open for further replies.
Discard any overclocking/tweaking you've done, you've obviously messed around with your timings or maybe pushed the CPU bus a little too far.... Then run a memory diagnostic like Memtest to check for errors.

okay well i havent tried to overclock anything, but yesterday for some reason my cpu was goin at 5ghz but Warez Monster told me how to make it normal... And i think id need to know how to mess around with stuff heh to actually push somethin to far. How would i discard any overclockin/tweakin if i dont know if i overclocked anything.. and how do i run a memory diagnostic like memtest. Sorry for all the questions this is the first pc i built and im new to everything and willing to learn

Thank you for your help

Well, if your haven't yet gone into BIOS and altered any CPU/RAM settings, you haven't yet overclocked :p What do you mean then by 'Overclocked RAM' (as in your previous post)? What type of RAM is it? dl a program called CPU-Z if you don't know.

To create a Memtest diagnostic bootable disk: Get a floppy disk, format it, and copy the nessesary files onto the floppy. Or dl the .iso file and bung that onto a CD/DVD-RW. Simple.

Okay sorry for long response do you have any sites to dl this? or do i just type it in google and ill get it?

okay, i downloaded the program

Type : DDR-SDRAM Channels # : Single
Size : 1024

if u want to know anythin else tell me

there in slot 1 and 3 it says

trying clearing the CMOS. and reinserting the ram...maybe your memory is faulty, you might have to Return it to tigerdirect.

By clearing the CMOS u mean by moving the jumper to the 2 pins then back? i already did that should i do it again?

trying taking a picture of this section

1) hit alt+ print screen

2) go into paint and hit ctrl+v

3) go to www.imageshack.us

4)copy and paste the link for Thumbnail for forums (1)

5)post it here