Help Building PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Faint

Solid State Member
If you are going to be using it for overclocking get the dfi lanparty nf4 sli-dr. Try either a san diego 3700+ or 4000+. For a good low cost heatsink get the thermaltake xp-90 or xp-120.

Thank you so far but a few more things.

Any suggestions for a case?

Also I forgot to mention, I get 2 year Net Replacement plans on all my products and I still want it to total around 1600$.:mad:

This is my first time building a PC too.

Edit : I do plan to play around with overclocking after some thought.;)

Faint, check out the thread I started a few days ago. I spent about a week and a half lurking forums and reading reviews of the items needed for a build. This will be my first build also. Check out one my last posts in the thread where I list my components. I am being told that my system will be very good and the total comes to around $1,372 without a monitor and operating system. I just bought a new monitor for about $325 and need to get an operating system so I will end up spending over $1,700. Good luck!
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=68571

neocamp22 said:
If you are going to be using it for overclocking get the dfi lanparty nf4 sli-dr. Try either a san diego 3700+ or 4000+. For a good low cost heatsink get the thermaltake xp-90 or xp-120.

Yes the DFI Lanparty is a good OCing board, but the Venice core is better for overclocking. Remeber to get a socekt 939 board. as for heatsinks, the XP series looks good. for case, the thermaltake tusnami dream tower is good, but it does not come with a power supply.

I looked at the AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3800BPBOX and saw this review =

"Here's A tip save yourself about 160+ bucks buy the Venice 3000+ overclock it to a 4000 without breaking a sweat stock voltage and hsf temps 30c-34c on a load"