Where should I put the heat sensor? Also a few other q's

Status
Not open for further replies.

kessomatt

Solid State Member
Ok I bought the aspire x navigator, and it has 2 heat sensors for the front lcd. The box says to tape it to the cpu, but what about the other one? Exactly how and where would I tape it to the cpu? Using electrical tape? Not new to computers but it is my first build.

aspire xnavigator case with 6 case fans(500w supply, 2.0 standard)
pentium 4 3.6(660)
1 wd raptor 74 gig
1 wd 320gig 7200 sata
1 gig corsair xms2 667
xfx 7800gtx
viewsonic 191b 19 inch
2 LG dvd burners
asus P5nd2-sli delux

I probably should have got a different mobo, I didnt realize they had so many problems until it shipped. I do not plan on OCing it, which is where everyone is having problems, hopefully they fix the bios by the time I need to OC. Also, I am going to use stock heatsink and fan until I need to OC, the six fans on the case should keep things safe.

One other thing, do you reccomend setting up the hard drives in a paticular way?

should have went with a DFi nF4-Sli and a eVGA 7800GTX, your going to have problems with the XFX, anyways you can just tuck the heatsensor between the socket and the cpu i believe and just stick it under there, as for the second one, just put it on your GPU or on your hdd. i would set the raptor for your OS and the larger one for just storage.

i would also get a different psu, usually psus that come with case are bad quality and just cheapy

Thanks for the info. The XFX has a lifetime warrenty(even if I sold the card) so it should not be a problem. I am a little edgy on the asus board, hopefully things will go smooth. The PSU has all the latest connectors, and it is a 60 dollar unit. Is there a way to test the thing before I even hook it up?

The power supply is aspire 500 watts. Its got dual 12v(do I really need this?) I was looking at the ocz power supplys and they do not have dual 12v rails.