Recommendations on first build

Status
Not open for further replies.

mtb2005

Baseband Member
Hello to everyone. Here's the situation:
I have been studying computer component prices and such for a few years. Recently I started getting into recreational video editing and want to build a pc. my main question is about the processor and which processor is the best value/performance for the money I am considering mild overclocking.

AMD 64 3000+ Venice core (Socket 939) $145
AMD 64 3200+ (Socket 939) $190
Intel P4 640 3.0 GHz (Socket T) $190

For your info:
1GB Dual Channel DDR 400 or 533 mem. ($100-125)
ATi X600Pro 256MB or X600 XT 128MB ($90-100)
160GB SATA II 7200RPM 8MB cache
Windows XP Pro x64bit
Raidmax Scorpio Case
MSI motherboard ($84)
Audigy 2 ZS sound card OEM ($50-60)
DVD+-RW 16x
(Feel free to comment on components...and, is this where i should post this?)

if you are video editing i woul go with a intel for some reason. if you are gaming i would go with the amd
dont get the x600pro
get the 6600GT-around 130-165 dollars
if you are OCing the MSI board is nice, but if you want to get a little more i would go with a DFI lanparty board
yes and you shuold post this here

guitarfreak yuo mean 6600GT i hope, ati is blowing this year.

EDIT: why are you trying to get an ati card? if you want an ati card go for a x800GT which is "supposbly" better then the 6600GT, just an option. or the x800xl which is about 50-100 dollars cheaper then the 6800GT, which i read reviews that its better, but i higly doubt that

uh, ok, so why do you want an ati card. you can get a pcie 6600GT for 130 dollars after rebate

Intel P4 640 3.0 GHz (Socket T) $190 <--processor is actually 180ish

eVGA 6600GT pcie - 130

are you going to be OCing if not then value ram is fine

corsair valueselect 1GB(512x2) - 98

mobo i dunno about mobo cause i dont go with intel

NEC IDE black/beige dvd burner - 41

Raidmax Scorpio Case - 45/50

Audigy 2 ZS sound card - 93