severe slowdown after 15 seconds

Status
Not open for further replies.

diablos220

Solid State Member
Hi I just reinstalled my computer with xp sp1.(long story) but basically im trying to run battlefield 1942. Everything is working fine, but when i start up battlefield, the game works good for about 15 seconds and then it chugs down to nothing. Even if i am quick enough to go through the menus and start a game, the game itself will run ( at lowest settings for everything) and i might even get a shot or two in, but then the framerate drops to about one frame per 2 seconds. My hardware is pretty antique. I have an 800mhz athlon (slot a) k7m board, 64mb radeon 7000 vid card, 384mb RAM. Ive got more memory and an overclocked 750 as well but i want to see if itll run on the bare minimum, and so far it seems like the computer CAN run BF but it just bogs down. I will be upgrading soon but I was wondering what could cause my problem. Thanks for any help you guys can give, im still learning!

just reinstalled my computer with xp sp1.(long story)

that tells me that something went wrong with the install, so reformat again and install sp 1 and 2, and try bf1942 again.

assuming the o/s is alright, is there anything else that could cause this problem? Other programs run fine, and gta2 doesnt slow down. I know that doesnt use as much juice but is it normal that a game would run fine for a bit then just slow down, it stil works but really slow.

hmm... isnt BF1942 an online game?? maybe you just have a crappy connection?
other than that i say as said above and reformat.. or maybe even just uninstall and reinstall BF

BF has online play but its got a campaign mode as well. I wont be playing it online because ive got dial up :( ill try reformatting and see if that helps.

if you are using a 64mb card, that might be the problem...doesnt BF have a min requirement of 64mb? that might be your problem.