A question about video cards...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Backstop30

Beta member
Hello all.

I'm new to the world of PC gaming and I am planning to upgrade my system, but I don't know what features I really need vs. the ones that I simply want. Hopefully that's where you guys can help. I plan on building a new system, starting with the video card and processor, and choosing the rest of the stuff to match (is this the smart way to go?).

I originally thought that any 256MB card would be a fine choice, but after looking into things a bit, I've found that there are alot of things that I know nothing about. I assume that the card's memory is secondary to things like memory bandwidth, vertices/sec., memory speed, etc.

I don't feel particularly inclined to shell out 450-500 bucks when I can probably get something sufficeint for half of that. Thanks in advance for all of your help. It is greatly appreciated.

I'd start by choosing a motherboard with all the features you want... that will support the CPU you wish to use...then go from there.

There are a lot of good graphics cards out there. It may be best to look around and find a few that you are interested in, then post the makes/models/prices of the cards. Then the peeps here at T-F can give their opinions on the cards and prices.

OK. I've looked around a bit and have it narrowed down to 2 cards. The Radeon 9700 Pro (128 MB) and the 9600 XT (128). The price difference is not really an issue ($15). Which (if either) do you guys think is the better card?

Also, I have a question about memory. Should I go Kingston PC 3200 HyperX - 512MB, or regulr PC 3200 Kingston - 1GB. The HyperX is only $20 cheaper, but I've read it's the best. Is it worth sacrificing the additional 512MB to get the HyperX?