Question about Zalman heatsink/fan

Status
Not open for further replies.

KingAustin

Daemon Poster
I need help with Zalman HSF!

I just bought this cooling fan, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16835118119

and I applied the thermal grease in a thin layer across it and followed the instructions on the paper, but my temp. is around the same if not a little higher than my stock heatsink/fan was.

Possible thing I did wrong but not sure, I didnt remove the old thermal grease (my old cooling fan had thermal grease in a square already packaged on it).

I'm just new to all of this and want my computer running as smoothly as possible.

If there was old thermal paste on your processor then you should remove it as it may have gone hard. The Zalman may not make a dramatic change in the cpu temp but it should be a lot quieter. Has it got a speed controller?

yea they have a program u can change the speed. but yea i would say u gotta remove the old stuf with a credit card and alcohol and a lint free rag

CJJohnson said:
If there was old thermal paste on your processor then you should remove it as it may have gone hard. The Zalman may not make a dramatic change in the cpu temp but it should be a lot quieter. Has it got a speed controller?

It is pretty quiet, and I have the speed controller turned all the way up

timmer said:
yea they have a program u can change the speed. but yea i would say u gotta remove the old stuf with a credit card and alcohol and a lint free rag

If I do this and remove all of the old stuff and recently applied stuff, and then reapply as a thin layer, it will make a noticeable difference? I just want to know that I didnt drop $40 on something that works equally or possibly worse than the stock part.

Also, I just checked Easytune and it says my CPU is running at 60ºC, while with the stock it was at 53-54ºC. I have a few minor programs running.