Greatest Technological Advancement...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Counter-Strike

Daemon Poster
What do you believe is the greatest technological advancement as far as computers?

I believe the change from the 16 to the 32 bit interface was a huge change, or could even be that laptops were created.

overclocking isn't really a technological advance though.

I think when hard drives became closer to how they are now instead of those record sized disks in the room sized computers of yester-year :p

The emergence of home networking and broadband internet access.

I've been building computers since 1996, and I can remember how much of a limitation it was that only one computer in our household could access the internet, as well as the fact that we had to have a second phoneline just for that purpose.

When I first was able to run a Sygate NAT'ing router on my main PC, and installed a 10Mbit hub and network cards in both our computers, that really changed the way we used computers in my house.

Compare that to today where networks are found everywhere, and hooking up to a wired or wireless network and getting broadband internet is just a no-brainer. We take the internet on our PC just for granted, since we are always connected 24x7. It didn't use to be like that for anybody but college students on campus networks or businesses.

Hell, even my phone (Pocket PC/Windows Mobile 2003 SE) is internet connected 24x7 with ISDN speeds. Its even a no brainer to drive out away from my apartment and hook my laptop up and wirelessly connect to the internet via my phone anywhere I go.

I think that is kind of the big change.

Nubius said:
overclocking isn't really a technological advance though.

Sure it is. Its given the somewhat nasty definition of "Making the CPU go faster than it was designed/intended to go," but its basically finding ways to increase the performance of your computer.