New Computer Build: Need Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

uthscsa19

Baseband Member
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail $132

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3000BPBOX - Retail $146

OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model OCZ4001024ELDCPER2-K - Retail $170

eVGA 128-P2-N368-TX Geforce 6600GT 128MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail $170

Western Digital Caviar SE WD1600JD 160GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM $82

SAMSUNG Black IDE Combo Drive Model TS-H492A/BEBN - OEM $35

Total $734

I am a newb to computer building, but I maintain and repair computers at work. I simply have never built a computer from scratch. I am hoping to build this computer and overclock to get a good gaming/general computer. I still need some help on picking a PSU and a case. The PSU needs to handle the overclocking and a possible upgrade in Video Card later if need be. The case just needs to be able to keep the whole thing cool enough. I plan to purchase some thermal paste when building (artic silver 5 is what i heard is best) and if needed, a heatsink, but ive heard Venice's are good on heat.

Anyways, please advise on my current list, and make suggestions for improvement. I will overclock, so let me know if these arent good choices. Also, a good but modestly priced PSU/case suggestion. I know the PSU is very important and should not by cheap, but I dont want something that is just wasteful and extra expensive.

Thanks for any replies.

Steve M

I think I like the Rosewill 550W PSU, and it seems to get good reviews.