Votes: 0 0.0%
  • no

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

jimholley1

Solid State Member
I am new to this tech forum, and I hope to find some good help here.

I am always looking for ways to tweak my XP Pro loaded computer, without spending bucks on the latest and greatest hardware, so I thought this would be a good place to start.

any good links to good reliable tweaking info would be appreciated.

It seems I am only getting 60% use of my ram, maybe due to uneeded running processes and such, so any info on only NEEDED processes running in Win XP Pro w/ sp1 would be helpful.

overclocking seems to be the normal answer, but blue screens are no fun, and no one has been able to tell me how to adjust properly.

Any info on this subject is also appreciated.

well if you wish to o/c dont o/c your ram just trust me on this. Go into bios and up the fsb for your cpu and it should get you a higher clock speed. Just dont fry it. If signs of being un stable occur just kick it back to stock speed. Oh and only mess with v a bit not to much. O/cing is very nifty and fun. If you arn't trying to go to the extreme and this is done right no danmage will happen. Welcome to tech-heaven

O/C

Thanks for the reply, I have palayed with the BIOS a bit, no your right, DO NOT mess with the RAM, I also learned several things about the AK77-400N board by AOpen in the process.
The FSB does not like to be fooled with, nor does the V, there is a muliplier next to the FSB and it likes X16 (ONLY), I have reset the CMOS 3 times to find all this out.
I have a recent bios update that all the guys on the AOpen tech forum are still trying to figure out:eek:
With this BIOS update, and the multiplier only, plus forcing the board to recognize the 256 cache on chip, I have taken a XP2400+, from 1999, and got the board to recognise it as a XP2600+ at 2.13 gig, but believe me after a couple CMOS resets, I am done trying, as i think this is as good as it is going to get.