Computer Woes (Two Months and Running)

Status
Not open for further replies.

extremecrew

Beta member
I've been working on my family's HP Pavilion 750n for two months now without avail. Three months ago, I could startup programs simultaneously (AIM and Steam Powered for example) in one to two seconds. A month later, I installed a fresh copy of Windows XP Pro to start new. When I started up the same programs it took around 20 to 30 seconds. This problem actually encompassed the entire system, with any program, individual or simultaneous. Boot times have also increased from 30 seconds or so to around two minutes.

The following is a list of actions that I have taken to try to fix the problem, but with minimal increase in performance:

-Adaware Complete Scan: nothing found
-Trendmicro Online Complete Scan: nothing found
-Windows Malicious Software Removal Tool: nothing found
-a2 scanner: nothing
-hijackthis: nothing
-McAfee AVERT Stinger: none
-Windows Update on all Critical, Optional and Hardware updates
-BIOS Update
-Intel Chipset Accelerator Updates
-Microsoft Disk Cleanup
-Microsoft Defragmenter
-Cacheman Optimization
-RegCleaner
-Microsoft BootVis
-Checked if DMA was enabled on HD: enabled and using it
-Checked CPU BIOS if DMA is enabled: enabled
-Checked where HD is located: it's on Primary Master, no Slave on Primary, though Secondary Master running DMA and Slave running PIO, and DMA is enabled on both...
-Ran DirectX Diagnostics: no problems found
-Device Manager: no hardware conflicts
-Checked connections of cables inside of tower, RAM changed out with different brand, same type: no change
-Checked whether PCI 1 Slot is open (explanation later): open
-Router's DHCP has been turned off and on again: no change in IP problem
-ComputersÂ’ IPs have been set to Static

So the problems I know about now is that
-Recent NVIDIA Drivers do not recognize any hardware that are compatible (?)
-IP Conflict comes up every hour or so (?)