AMD and heat problems?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CouGaR

Solid State Member
I'm thinking of buying a new computer soon with an AMD processor and I'm an AMD virgin. I've been doing some research and I found many sites and people saying AMDs run hotter than Intels. I want to buy a computer for gaming, and I looked at the sticky topic on AMD vs. Intel, and a few people in there said AMDs are better for gamiing, so that's a plus. My question is the heat though.

Here's the computer I might buy: Click Here

I'm planning on sticking an ATI Radeon X800 XL in there, and taking a gig of RAM out of my current computer and placing it in there (both are PC3200), so that new comp would have a total of 2 GB RAM.

How much heat can I expect from that computer once I'm done? Like I said earlier, I'm completely new to AMD processors. Will I need to buy a better heatsink or fans, or will stock be good?

Sorry if this is posted in the wrong place, I'm new here.

The a1130n does seem better, thanks for finding that for me.

Here's another question. I noticed it has:

Video Chipset: ATI RADEON XPRESS 200 IGP

What's video chipset exactly? Does it matter if I use an Nvidia card with an ATI chipset? The reason I wanted ATI is because they're cheaper, but I do like Nvidia better.

What Nvidia card can you guys recommend for around $299 (hopefully less, lol), and that's better than ATI's X800 XL?

AMD's running hotter... it's no longer the case.
Athlon XP's would normally run at around 60 degrees (C) with Pentium 4's being around 45-50.
now Intel has made their Prescott, which will often hit 70 degrees (C), while AMD with their Athlon 64's will run at around 35-40 degrees, and no more than about 45 unless it's a dual core, then it might hit 50.

Athlon 64's are AMD's latest, running very efficiently at 1.4V, producing low heat, and outperforming Intel's in most cases.