How hard can I pull?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lydiebreeze

Solid State Member
Hello all,
First off I'm new to this forum, and need some advice. I'm attempting to replace my power supply and have it all out and diagramed for the new one - but I can't easily get it off the Mother Board - how hard can I pull? Is there a trick to it? I'm afraid to crack the mother board/damage the portal...
Sorry if my terminology isn't correct - I'm a bit of a novice.
Thanks
Julie

Dear MacDude,
This may sound personal - I don't mean it that way!... how big/strong are you?
I'm a 130 lb lady, who can maybe lift 80 lbs without too much effort (with both hands...) - so... just want to gauge how extreme is extreme... :)

Squeeze the clip with one hand. With the other pinch the sides of the connecter and pull. Pull as hard as you need too. Yo won't damage anything.

A okay? The clip they are talking about is a locking device on the connector. When you push in at the top you should see the little tooth on the botton move out from the area on the connector on the mobo and it should just come out with a gentle pull and a little wiggling (of the clip) :) of the plug. Did you get this accomplished wihtout ripping the plug out of your mobo?

Well, I damaged SOMETHING....
One of the "brackets" maybe? Half of one of those very long black things came flying out of my computer - as well as some card....
The numbers on it are...PC 133U...
What have I done? Is it time to take it in or can I replace that little black bracket?
ANDDD = is there anyway to recover my files from my hard-drives?
I mean - eventually?

lydiebreeze said:
Dear MacDude,
This may sound personal - I don't mean it that way!... how big/strong are you?
I'm a 130 lb lady, who can maybe lift 80 lbs without too much effort (with both hands...) - so... just want to gauge how extreme is extreme... :)
No, I understand. I have no problem telling you I weigh about 110, and can lift about the same amount of weight.