Overheating problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Allanon754

Beta member
Hey all, I have my first build finally done, yes I'm a noob but somethings not right when I try to game on it. It keeps freezing after a minute or so for about five seconds with the sound repeating like a broken record, and then it resumes for a few seconds and repeats. Everything else runs fine and I'm at a loss as to this issue.

Sorry if I posted in wrong thread, wasn't sure if I should have put it in Gaming one or not :(

Oh and I checked the GPU temp and it was 58 degrees celsius, is that way too high?

Lan Party UT Nvidia nForce3 250Gb
1 GB Corsair XMS PC3200
512 MB Crucial PC3200
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
GeForce 6800 GT

It could be triggered by the 2 different memory types you have installed. Try removing the Crucial 512mb and see if the same thing happens. Try it the other way around too.

And 58c on a video card is normal.

So you're saying it's most likely the memory that's causing my games to freeze up every few seconds?

Well I ran a benchmark test and it froze up every 10 or so seconds, why would the memory be screwing up?

General Information :
Chipset : nVidia nForce3 250
Chipset RAM Type : DDR-SDRAM PC2600
SPD RAM Type : DDR-SDRAM PC3200
HTT Frequency : 200.9 MHz
Memory Bus Speed : 161 MHz
Chipset Bandwidth : 1608 MB/s
Memory Bandwidth : 2571 MB/s
Latency : CL2.5

Memory Information :
L1 Cache : 128 KB
L2 Cache : 512 KB
Total Memory : 1536 MB

Tests Information :
Instructions SSE, SSE2, SSE3 : 128-bit
Instructions MMX : 64-bit
Instructions 3DNow! : 64-bit
Instructions FPU : 64-bit
Instructions INT : 32-bit
Test : 2 x 64 MB
Prefetch-Block (8 KB) : Yes
Latency Stride : 512

That's results for Ram test and this is for Memory test

General Information :
Processor : AMD Athlon 64
Frequency : 2410.97 MHz
L1 Cache : 128 KB
L2 Cache : 512 KB
Total Memory : 1536 MB
HTT Frequency : 200.9 MHz

Processor Technology :
MMX : Yes
MMX AMD : Yes
3DNow! : Yes
SSE : Yes
SSE2 : Yes
SSE3 : No