Ordering Parts Today -- Please Advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

RacerX

Baseband Member
I think I've decided on the all the components for my new machine, but I need a little more help. I will be using it for gaming and HL2 mapping. Please give it the once over, if you could, and let me know if there are any compatability issues or other problems with any of the components. I'll not be modifying any parts or doing any overclocking and I have never built a comp before, so I'd like any parts to have good manuals and be easy to assemble and configure. I just want something reliable that is easy for a complete noob to put together.

Also, can you tell me what other parts or materials I'll need to assemble everything (like cables, adaptors, glue, whatever)?

Thanks a ton for looking it over :) I really appreciate it!

Case $48
PSU $77.25
Mobo $124.99
CPU $324.95
Video Card $320.00
RAM $83.82
HD $105.00
Optical $52.79
OS $94.90 (What's 2002 version?)
Total $1,234.70 US including tax & shipping

*I already have a monitor, speakers, keyboard and mouse.
**I used Newegg just to show the items, but most were found cheaper elsewhere.

im gonna say something about the graphics card, but so many people are gonna disagree with me.

Instead of eVGA, i would go to LeadTek.

No flame please.

Not a personal thing, just the 100000 pages ive read up on the internet favours leadtek over ... pretty much all nvidia

Xiahou said:
instead of eVGA, i would go to LeadTek.

Not a personal thing, just the 100000 pages ive read up on the internet favours leadtek over ... pretty much all nvidia

Try to find a Leadtek that cheap. It was a good decision to get the eVGA. It's nearly of equal quality to the Leadtek if not the same or better, and you're saving a good amount of cash.