Graphics in Windows XP

Status
Not open for further replies.

cabo123

Beta member
I would really appreciate some help on this.

I am new to windows XP (Home Edition) and I have noticed that everything seems to be screened, including pictures and videos, not smooth looking as with previous operating systems.

Is this the type of graphics they chose for XP?

I used to use Windows Millenium (Ugh)! and my niece uses Windows 98 se, but any pictures or videos I viewed on Real Player or Windows Media looked better than using XP

I would like to know if there is a way I can change this.

Please don't think I am nuts!!

It is a genuine request for assistants from an experts.

Thank you.

:( :(

Have you installed your graphics/chipset drivers?

have you checked for spyware/virus/adaware? or anything unusual eating up resources?

what is your color setting?

right click on desktop and do properties and check ya video options. . .

Thanks for the replys,

I am still a neophyte at this, I bought an e machines from Best Buy with Xp and this is when I first noticed this.

I bought it back, got a refund, and purchased one from Dell which

is the one I am using now.

I am not familiar with chipset driver, and I have checked the video settings. I tried to adjust the brightness, contrast and something called Gamma, also my computer came with Norton anti virus and spyware blocker.

The best example I can give is the vertical scrollbar, this is where the screening really shows up.

Right click on the desktop. click properties, go to settings, what does the display read:

Then go to advanced, monitor, and see if you what your refresh rate is. It might say hardware default or 60hz. Change it to atleast 80 if you are using a crt or 70 in you are using a lcd flat screen monitor. This will help your eyes from straining and getting headaches. Make sure the color quality is set to 32bit