newbie - Which AMD processor?

Status
Not open for further replies.

donduck

Solid State Member
Hi all,

I am planning to put together a computer. I had SOME experience previously, but that was done without doing any research at all.

Now I've come to the first critical question: "Which processor to use, and How fast?"

I have been using Intel for almost 15 yrs, and I haven't had any experience with AMD, so now I've decided it's time to give AMD a shot for a lower cost solution.

I'm looking for an AMD processor that is about as fast as Intel's 2.8-3.0 Ghz (performance-wise).

Just to let you all know, I know nothing about AMD processors, so please be considerate and throw me with some constructive suggestions. To be honest, I don't even know what are the differences between Athlon XP, Athlon 64, or Sempron.

Your help would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
Don :cool:

I would recommend this processor.

That one would give you equal performance if not more than a Pentium 4 3.0ghz.

Semprons are the newer AMD64 version of the Durons which were last generation....Durons would be the equivelant to an Intels Celerons....the "Value" chip.

My suggestion for you would be to look for a 3000+ or 3200+ venice core AMD64....it's a Socket 939 so you'd want a socket 939 mobo....

the AMD64's are not only..you guessed it...64 bit...so you'll be ready for whenever Windows officially releases it's fully loaded 64bit OS, but beyond that they are awesome 32bit processors as well.

The memory bandwidth differences between AMD64's and the XP series is quite a bit...PC3200 RAM would get about 3gb/sec realistically (supposed to be 3.2Gb hence PC3200 but realistically it never hits that) in an AMD64 system the memory bandwidth will be 6gb/sec+ depending on the CPU, motherboard, and little things like that...