Compatiblity with 7800 gtx

Status
Not open for further replies.

Octaz

Beta member
I'm new to these forums (this is my first post) and i'm new to building computers, so i have a question.

Will a geforce 7800 gtx be compatiblie with an asus a8n-sli deluxe motherboard?

Also, would this be better with an nforce 4 sli chipset motherboard? ( i have a feeling these may be the exact same motherboards because of thier names.)

Basically i want my computer to look like this:

Motherboard: asus a8n-sli deluxe OR alienware nforce 4 sli chipset

Graphics Card: Geforce 7800 gtx

Ram: 2, 1 gig, corsair xms ram

Processor: athlon 64 fx-55

EDIT IS HERE: I completely forgot, i have no idea about the power and cooling stuff, so can somebody give me a some tips on what to do with power?

If somebody knows a good website where i can check compatiblity please tell me too, because you guys probably dont go looking up compatibility for people or dont have that exact system. I just want to make sure my comp doesnt fry.

Also, will this computer run well with the new games like half-life 2, doom 3, and battlefield 2?

Yes it will run great, nForce 4 uses PCIE so you are stuck with that since the 7800 GTX only comes in PCIE form.

Let me make a suggestion though: if you plan on doing any overclocking than don't go for an Asus motherboard as DFI will easily out do it. However if you do not plan on overclocking than stay with the Asus.

2GB RAM, unless you are doing something with 3dmax or something of the sort, is really unnecessary. Gaming rigs still run 1gb and perform expceptionally.

That pc will be able to run anything you throw at it at the highest setting. I'm almost sure somebody will tell you to get a DFI Lan Party Ultra-D Sli. I'm nearly sure they will also tell you to get 1 gb of ram instead of 2.

Edit: Yup, and he posted while I was typing, lol.