AMD Processor vs Intel Processor

Status
Not open for further replies.
dang, this is getting slow.. common guys, our goal is 1000 posts on this thread... TF rules!! :cool:

it rules, but i'll still go with the X2... if i was only a gamer, i would get the FX57, but i'm doing apps and stuff, so X2 would suit me more..
i wonder how much you can overclock that chip...

Re: AMD Processor vs. Pentium Processor

Snake-Eyes said:
Hi I just joined and I have a few questions. Are AMD processors any better than a Pentium? Is the switch from Pentium to AMD smooth? I was looking at getting a new computer and I was introduced to an AMD processor so I was a little intrugued. Please nothing too in-depth, I'm just starting out in the PC world. At the moment, i'm looking at a 3200+ AMD processor (got a quote and the guy didn't write down the full name of hardly any thing).

the full computer setup is this (the quote was written down as this):

NVidia 6800 GT 256MB video card
2048MB PC3200 DDR RAM
S939 3200+
S939 K8NS Ultra MB
240GB RAIDED SATA
16x Dual Layer DVD+RW
Windows XP
ATX case
500W power supply
17" LCD monitor

Is this good to run the newest games like Doom 3, Half-life 2, etc? Also, do you think i should get a better processor?

pc_boy said:
it rules, but i'll still go with the X2... if i was only a gamer, i would get the FX57, but i'm doing apps and stuff, so X2 would suit me more..
i wonder how much you can overclock that chip...
I'd like to see how far they overclock also.
I expect they won't overclock as well, since they'll be putting out more heat from the 2 cores

apokalipse said:
I'd like to see how far they overclock also.
I expect they won't overclock as well, since they'll be putting out more heat from the 2 cores

actually, they might overclock more, since you can overclock each core.. i agree it would put more heat, but that's why you need a good cooling system. I herd Toledo is a good and efficient core, based on the Venice...:confused: