Save a N00b! SATA+A8V+WinXP

Status
Not open for further replies.

speedythief

Beta member
Hi guys, I'm looking for help.

I bought parts to build a new computer and have run into a problem.

This is my first build, so be gentle! ;)

I bought a SATA HDD to serve as my standalone hard disk. It is a SATA WD Raptor (74GIG). My Mobo is an Asus A8V Deluxe. I'm trying to install Windows XP, eventually.

My problem is in trying to get my HDD going.

I've got a few SATA connections on my mobo, two labelled SATA 1 & 2 and two labelled SATA RAID 1 & 2.

Since I'm only using one hard disk, and I'm not using a RAID setup, I figured the HDD would connect to SATA 1 (black plug into black socket).

I have it plugged in to that (and to my PSU), but I can't seem to get it set up. I can't install Windows XP because it says it can't detect a hard disk. When I press <tab> at POST, it says neither a slave or master drive is installed. I've done the <CTRL+R> or whatever where it takes you to an auto set-up screen, but even when I run that (it configures the drive to RAID0 (Stripe)) Windows won't setup because it doesn't detect the disk and I can't get it to recognise the drive when I press <tab> at POST.

I can't get to the command prompt to run FDISK to format the disk, either.

The instructions provided in the Asus manual don't detail how to install a single non-RAID SATA disk without having Windows up and running (and therefore being able to access the command prompt). If it does, I can't seem to decipher it. They tell me to run the auto setup, which I did, then to press F6 during Windows setup to install drivers. I've tried both the Promise and RAID drivers included on the A8V CD but it doesn't read them as the proper disks required.

I'm not sure what to do. I don't know if I need to change my BIOS settings (I haven't the foggiest how to tinker with BIOS so I've avoided it), if I don't have the disk connected to the right socket on the mobo, or what.