Build a PC from Scratch or Buy Manufactured.

Status
Not open for further replies.

uthscsa19

Baseband Member
I was wondering what would be cheaper for me to do. Im on a pretty tight budget, as I am a College Student. I will mostly be using this computer for work related stuff however. I work alot on Photoshop, large Powerpoint/Word files (50-100MB), learning 3ds Max 7, abit of Corel, and mainly web-browsing. I'd also like it to be able to connect to my HDTV, and use that as my primary monitor. Its a 32in Zenith 4:3 1080i CRT TV monitor. It has DVI or components, and I've seen the 6600GT refrenced alot for this use. I will be buying a wireless keyboard/mouse set to use this from my coffee table/lap. Im still flip-floping between an Intel Prescott 3.0ghz 530J, or a AMD Venice 3200+. I'd like to have atleast 1GB of Ram, and atleast a 100GB SATA HD. Built in soundcard will do. Like i said, I have a paltry budget, of 500-700 US $.

Would dropping to a 3000+ and overclocking save me money? I've heard that the Venice Processors are good for OC'ing on stock fans. Anyways, is this doable on this sorta budget?

I would build, on higher end computers manufactuers seem to rip you off even more.

however, on the cheaper end I got an emachine, 17 inch monitor, keyboard, mouse and speakers for $199.99 which is basically unbeatable.

However, since it is higher end that you want I would build

Time and time again this question is asked, and the only answer anyone can honestly give you, is:

"If you have the knowledge, time, and desire to build your own, build your own. If you do not, do not."