A question concerning flashing my BIOS, help needed.

Status
Not open for further replies.

MADWAD

In Runtime
So i have to update my Bios. No problems except i have to update them first using "AFlash". These are the directions below but being a noob i'm having trouble trying to figure them out.

AFLASH.EXE (unzipped) can only be executed in DOS mode and not from MS-DOS Prompt in Windows O/S. As a result, no matter if you wish to backup or update the BIOS content, you must create a new boot disk. Please copy AFLASH.EXE into the disk which you wish to boot the system. In addition, in the BIOS device boot sequence, you must set boot from "Floppy Drive" as the first device in the order of boot sequence.

Use Update using Aflash BIOS Update Procedure

1. ASUS Online Update (Download from ASUS WWW ` FTP) for latest version BIOS and save it on a floppy disk.

2. Use the floppy disk as described in above to boot.

3. In A:\ DOS mode, please unzip AFLASH.EXE (unzipped).

4. In MAIN MENU, please choose Update BIOS Main Block From File. Please refer to [2. Update BIOS Including Boot Block and ESCD] .

5. After the procedure has complete, remove the disk from the floppy drive and shutdown the power.

6. Reboot, hold down key and enter BIOS menu. You must choose "LOAD SETUP DEFAULTS" to activate the new BIOS, then reconfig other items in the BIOS menu.

So i have to download the aflash file to a floppy disk (but how do i make it a boot disk?" And how do i set boot to "floppy drive"? Really appriecate some advice concerning this. Thanks

format a floppy with the system files included in the disk, that gives you a bootable floppy disk. (you will not find this on window 2k, but XP, Me and 98)

go to BIOS (a blue screen saying BIOS setting) when you power up the system (press F2 or delete depends on your motherboard repeatedly), find "boot device priority" or something similar, change floppy to be your #1 boot device.

hope it help

How do i do this?