AIM and kids?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Col. Mustard

Beta member
I'm not sure where to ask this... actually I'm lucky I made it this far! but here goes... I was wondering, is there a way I can se what my kids are saying on AIM? my son has made a couple new friends recently that he talks to constantly on the computer... I know he uses AIM, but he closes the conversation every time I walk in the room and I was wondering if there is a way to find out what he's saying, and if its at all possible, what he has already said... a direct confrontation won't work because I'm not that good with computers but he is... and I'm afraid he will simply lie and theres no way I could verify his story... thanks guys for any help.

DO NOT BUY A KEY LOGGER THEY ARE NOW ILLEGAL under the new spyware laws called Spyact and I-spy you can read the law here http://www.govtrack.us/congress/bill.xpd?bill=h109-29.

It's about personal security and don't recommend spying on your kid as it's an invasion of his personal space back in the day I remember using encryption software just so my folks cannot read what I typed. I've also tried turning off the history recording on AIM. The day my parents put on a tracking software to see what I was saying I knew from the processes and I reformated the whole computer. The good memories of the past....

If you want to spy on your kid just check the built in history feature on AIM. I'm sorry I couldn't help more as I use a multi messenger that is different than AIM.

thanks, but... what built in feature do you mean? as I said, I'm not too good with computers... could you explain a bit? I mean... I'm not sure what his 'friends' are saying... he's been getting into some trouble lately and I want to se whats going on, since he talks so much on there... thanks