L2 Cache vs. Clock Speed

Status
Not open for further replies.

strategist333

In Runtime
I'm relatively new to chips and what actually drives their performance, and I've seen chips with a lower clock speed but a larger L2 cache placed at a higher price value. So which one actually determines performance? I also read somewhere that 512k of L2 can handle about 256 MB of RAM and 1 MB of L2 can handle about 512 MB of RAM. Is that true? And what if I decide to get 1 GB of RAM?

Thanks

Cache size has absolutely no relation to memory capacity.

Clock speed is more important than cache size. Frequency has a helluva lot more effect on internal bandwidth. Cache is really just small memory modules built into the die which are accessed at high speeds, you can't compensate larger memory space without the horsepower. Same deal with memory, it's pointless to have 4GB of RAM if it's operating at 1MHz.

no..it's the other way..why do you think celerons suck? they have 128kb of cache where as a p4 has 512 which is more efficient

Here is the two CPUs I was referring to:

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Socket 754 Clawhammer (2000 MHz, 1 MB L2 cache), which was more expensive than

AMD Athlon 64 3400+ Socket 754 Newcastle (2400 MHz, 512k L2 cache)

Is the price difference then due to the different cores? Which one is the best core?

the 3400+ is better, because 1meg cache is unneeded for an average gamer. now..if you play HDR then you'll need it to draw more but that's for hardcore gaming

The +#### refers to performance, so the +3400.

The Newcastles compensate for the loss of cacher with higher speeds, which allow them to perform more processes. The way the core designs lets it do this.