Someone help me to choose really good comp plz

Status
Not open for further replies.

snipa.inc

Solid State Member
Hey everyone...ill explain my situation...
i currently live in australia and im leaving for argentina in 2 weeks...1 dollar here equals to three dollars there so im gonna buy a computer in parts there and bring it here and build it...
im only 14 so im not an expert with computers but i know a bit...im looking for help on what parts to buy ((-- my parents are willing to spend around $1000-$1200 a.u on the parts altogether--))

thanx man...really helped, yea i wanna use it for mostly gaming, like counter-strike and half-life and all those games that need good computers...i currently have a verrrrrrrrrrry crap comp that can support those games but just can't run them properly enoguh....i have to play on the lowest resolution :S:S:S:S

since you want to play 3D games focus on the video card. the video hardware has the most impact on how well your games run and look.

If you end up able to afford it, go with an ATI Radeon 9800 with 128 MB RAM on it at least. Aside from that, be sure to have around 512 to 1024 MB (more RAM always helps everything) of DDR SDRAM, as well as a sturdy CPU (Hyperthreading would be nice...but I haven't heard that it actually helps that much). Be sure the hard drive has a speed of at least 7200 RPM, not a 5400. As for the Mainboard, be sure to get some sort of brandname that will fit into whatever case you get. Oh...and sound card should also be brand name, not integrated into the mainboard. Soundblaster is typically good. Again, if your budget allows it, you can go with a sound card with 5.1 (that only applies if you are ever going to use it). Good luck.

If you are going to be playing counter-stuff you wont need much of a comp to run it, if thats the main game you will be playing, i suggest dont spend too much, my 1.2@1.4 athlon with a gf4mx runs it flawless at highest res...