Startup Problem!

Status
Not open for further replies.

n3wt3ch

Baseband Member
Hi All,

I'm new to computer building and administration and I'm having a problem with my computer not starting. It's sort of embarrasing (and shows how much of a novice I really am) but just before it started happening I was in my CMOS menu under the BIOS options and I changed one of the options for my CPU. I believe it was something like "CPU Acceleration" and I set it to enabled. I then hit "Save & Exit" and the system shutdown. When I tried to turn it back on it just beeps once and shuts off. I tried starting it a few tiomes and it just kept doing the same thing. From doing some online research I think resetting the CMOS would fix the problem, but I'm a beginner and have no idea what resetting the CMOS would do overall.

Here's my setup (it's old school so don't laugh too hard)

CPU: AMD Athlon (Thunderbird) 1 GHZ Processor
MOBO: ABIT KT7 (Not Raid Version)
PSU: Addtronics 300W

I think that's everything that matters. If you need any more info reply and I'll get it. Meanwhile I downloaded the Manual for the ABIT KT7 and am going to start going through it and see what I find.

Thanks for any input or help!

Mike

I believe there is a pin that you can pull on the mobo that will reset all the bios settings to default. check the manual and see if it mentions that.

reset d bios
check inside the mobo there will be a battery open it for 2-5 minutes n plug it
else locate a reset jumper near d battery reposition d jumper to rest the bios

Yeah, check the manual first. There should be a jumper somewhere. You turn off your power, take off the jumper from 1 and 2, and put it on 2 and 3 for maybe 5 seconds. Then put it back on 1 and 2 and turn your computer on. It works something like that, but find where it is and what to do with your manual.