New Computer (recommendation)

Status
Not open for further replies.

LordDjinn

Solid State Member
Hello I am a college student at ITT and was wanting some feedback on a system that I am thinking about building.

I have been putting a computer parts list together for some time now. I came up with a computer that cost $2,053 US dollors. The computer is going to be used for just about everything.

Here is the computer parts list:

CPU - P4 2.4GHz 800MHz FSB, 512K Cache, HT - Retail

Motherboard - Gigabyte 875P "GA-8KNXP" -RETAIL

RAM - Geil Golden Dragon Dual Channel 256MBx2 DDR PC-3200

Soundcard - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS PCI

Videocard - ATI RADEON 9600 PRO 128MB DDR DVI+TV

Case - LinkWorld Black/Silver ATX Mid-Tower Case 400W

Harddrive(Master) - Seagate 120GB 7200rpm SATA Hard Drive

Floppydrive- SONY MPF920 Black 1.44MB 3.5INCH Floppy Disk Drive

CD-RW - Lite On LTR-52327S Black 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive

DVD-RW - Sony DW-U14A Black DVD+/-RW

TV Tuner - Prolink PixelView Play TV pro PCI MODEL TV-BT878P+

IDE Controller - HighPoint Controller Card RocketRaid133 Retail

Harddrive - (4x)MAXTOR 160GB 7200RPM IDE HARD DRIVE

Keybaord - Microsoft Natural Multimedia Keyboard & Wheel
Mouse

Speakers - Logitech Z640 5.1 Speaker

Headphones - KOSS QZ-99 Technology Headphones

Moniter/TV - 31" SONYO TV w/s-video out/in

that is gonna be one hell of a system you got there. if i can make one suggestions, i say go with 2, 512MB DDR ram instead of 256, it will make the world of a diffrence. also, about the DVD-RW, i suggest you dont buy one, this is still a new technology, and is wayy too over priced for the speed and durability u r getting, give it a year or so, and you will be able to get a much better one for the same cost.

The reason that I picked P4 instead of an AMD XP is bc of the fact that AMD heat faster

Radeon 9600