Help/Ideas on a Comp Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

JDGreen92086

In Runtime
Hey, I'm new to building PC's, and I need to ask for suggestions as to what items to use. I will be gaming nearly 100% of the time on this thing. Depending on what the final product can do, is what games I'll play. WoW for sure and many other games. I'm trying to keep anything that doesnt have to do with gaming performance cheap as possible. Example, a case. I dont care what the case looks like, it could look awful, but I need one that will get the job done. On to the setup.

This is what I've came up with so far.

Case: Rosewill TU-153 Steel ATX Mid Tower 400W

Motherboard: Asus A8NSLI Deluxe ATX AMD (I hear DFI is better and doesn't create many problems like Asus. Right? Explain please?)

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3,700 socket: 939

Memory: Corsair GB 184-Pin DDR-SDRam DDR400

Hard Drive: Seagate Garracuda 160 GB 7200 RPM ATA100

PSU: Antec Smartpower 2.0sp-400 ATX12v 400W

Optical 1: Lite-On Black IDE Combo

Optical 2: Lite-On Black IDE DvD-Rom

Video Card: GeForce 6800 GT PCI-Express 256MB DDR3

My final cost is approximately $1250. If anyone could give me advice as to what is better, cheaper, or as good/better and cheaper, then please tell me. I'm trying to limit the money I spend since in 3 months I go to college, and I'll need both money, and oh yeah, a gaming PC. Also, could anyone tell me what high end game this setup would run? Just wondering about the limits. Feels like I'm forgetting something... I'm sure someone with remind me.

Please, fill me with knowledge!

I would get G.Skill or OCZ RAM instead of Corsair. they overclock much better
I would get a PSU with more wattage. 480W.

either a DFI NF-4 Ultra-D, or an MSI board (they allow high overclocks)

good choice on the GPU and CPU.
just don't get Chaintech or XFX for a video card brand

the 3700+ has a San-Diego core, exactly the same as the Venice but with more L2 cache, which will give huge overclocks.