GFX card fan... getting hands dirty!

Status
Not open for further replies.

harrytewkesbury

Baseband Member
Hey all. Have had my rig up for about two years now, and naturally its starting to lag behind the competition. My GFX card is a Geforce ti200 which, along with teh rest of the rig, i would like to update. Trouble is i cant because im a cheapo student with no money. Anyway, i have come to realise that during the course of these two years, the cooling fan has never actually worked. I recently detached it from the card and had a look around. It is very stiff, and altough it turns, it hardly does smoothly. I even oiled the bastard, but to no avail. I guess since it doesnt work i could pry it apart and see if the bearings are messed up. Trouble is, would this completely screw me over or not? Anyone taken apart a fan before?

Harrytewkesbury, you just mention that during 2 years of your cards use, the fan never worked. So this is not a problem. If it was, your system would of obviously had a problem a long time ago. I think your gettting way to technical over something rather simple.

Well i would be inclined to agree with you, but here's the thing (i should have included this in the original post). I just borrowed Far Cry from a friend and installed it. The frame rate is surprisingly high for my system (about 30-40/s) but every so often the game freezes for a few seconds, and then carries on at high speed as if nothing had happened. I appreciate that slowdown usually comes from texture loading etc, but there is no HDD activity during the pauses. Trawling through the forums led me to believe that my GFX card is overheating: and then the fan issue comes to a head. Either way... i still dont know how to disassemble a fan! :) I guess if it doesnt work, then there is no harm in trashing it in the name of desperation. I could always attach a case fan to the card powered from the MOBO. That would only set me back a few coins...