memtest86

Status
Not open for further replies.

Him

Fully Optimized
So I ran memtest86 for the first time the other day... It's still running. Is it suppose to take that long? Takes about 1 hour per MB. When I left for work today, it had 38MB done in 35 hours time. Is that how long it is suppose to take? I'm going to get new RAM soon (1gb) and I'm going to want to make sure it is error free, so I want to run the hell out of memtest on them, but I will be looking at almost 1000 hours! That is ridiculous. Should it take that long?

Also, when the test finished, does it just keep on going until you manually stop it?

shouldnt take that long, heck, you can write your own code to test memory and the program should only take about a minute

That's way too slow. Make sure you don't have any programs opened, or any unneeded processes running.

AHHHHHHH!!!!!! Mr. Horn, I'm no programmer. I havent the slightest CLUE when it comes to programming. Unfortunetely, I am a straight up Windows guy.

im not much of a programmer either, but im learning, its becoming a necessity with all the bad freakin code out there these days

Yeah I suppose, but you're a Linux guy so you really need to know it. I really have no interest in programming, unfortunetely. It is tedious and monotonous to me, and I derive no pleasure from it. I really wish I did enjoy it, as it would be a great skill to have. I have tried to enjoy it, but I really cant.

You may not be much of a programmer, but I am NO programmer. I couldnt even tell you where to start in making the most basic of Viz Basic apps.

Uh, so no one told you that Memtest will never stop testing unless you stop it? Memtest is a redundent test program that will continue to run until you hit the ESC button, there is no end to it. So if after 11hrs you have no errors, then you never will. Stop the test.