2x 6600GT Vs SLi

Status
Not open for further replies.

v6steve

Solid State Member
Right guys,
I know a fair bit about computers but i've never built one before and i'm about to start building my first one.

The spec i've decided on is:

AMD Athlon 3800+ overclocked to about 2.8 Ghz
nForce 4 chipset motherboard with SLi (any suggestions?)
1024 Mb DDR PC3200 RAM
74 Gb 10,000 rpm SATA hard Drive

What i'm curious to know is:
Would two 6600GT (128mb) graphics card linked in SLi be better than having one 6800GT?
I can't afford 2 6800GT but I might be able to afford 1 6800GT Ultra.
Is the Athlon 4000+ really worth the extra $100, I know its got 1mb L2 cache but how would that compare to an overclocked 3800+?
Also, I'm going to uprate the cooling when I overclock the processor. Is it worth investing in watercooling or will an advanced air cooling system be enough.

Sorry for all the questions but I wanna make sure I get this right.
Any feedback's appreciated.

P.s Does anyone know of a motherboard with nForce4, SLi and DDR2 Ram capability?

I have not researched watercooling pricess at all, so i couldnt advise in that way. but i will give my advice...

if im rong someone just correct me.. more important then the form of cooling, is properly applying the the thermal compound between the Heatsink device and the cpu core. example - an air cooled HSF with thermal compound propperly applyed would probably show better resaults then a watercooling block with thermal compound not properly applyed.

When applying thermal compound, you will get one of two outcome; It will work, or it wont. If you dont apply it right, your cpu will overheat. If you do put it on right, it wont overheat.