Buying a computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

silverfilly

Beta member
Hi everyone!

I am a complete newbie here. I am typing on an ancient computer :D I am in the market for a new one. Right now I have a hewlett packard. I have been pretty happy with it, never needed repairs or anything at all. It is older and so it is slow. I really was thinking I'd buy another Hewlett Packard computer. The model I was looking at is HP Pavilion 3.00GHz a375c-b desktop.

Here's some info on it:

Processor and Memory:

-Intel Pentium 4 Processor 3.00 GHz with hyper-threading technology

-512 KB secondary-level cache (L2)

-2700 MB/sec memory speed

-800MHz front-side bus

-512 MB PC2700 DDR SDRAM memory (expandable to 4GB)

Hard drive and multimedia drives:

-160 GB 7200 RPM Ultra DMA hard drive

-3.5" (1.44MB) floppy disk drive

-DVD writer and CD-writer combo drive

-DVD-ROM drive 16 max. speed

Audio/video/graphics:

-Integrated AC97, six speaker configurable

-NVIDIA GeFroce FX 5200 AGP 8x graphics card with 128MB DDR video memory, TV out, and DVI support

Data /fax/modem

-Integrated 10/100 base-T network interface
-High-speed V.92 ready data/fax modem

Expandability:

-4 DIMM (184-pin DDR) (2 available)
-2 external 5.25" (occupied)
-2 external 3.5" (occupied)
-2 internal 3.5" (occupied)
-3 PCI (2 available)
-1 AGP (occupied)

Ports

front mounted ports

-7-in-1 digital media card reader
-1 firewire (IEEE 1394) port
-2 USB 2.0
-MICROPHONE/HEADPHONE/LINE-IN

external ports

-front panel 7in1 digital media card reader
-6 USB 2.0
-2 firewire ports
-1 serial
-1 parallel
-2 PS/2 (occupied by mouse and keyboard)
-1 VGA
-mircophone/headphone/line-in

Keyboard mouse and monitor:

-HP wireless keyboard with full media control
-wireless optical mouse
-f1903 19" LCD flat panel display with adjustable base and Harman Kardon speakers

Bundled software

-Operating system Windows XP home edition
ETC... software

Alright the grand total is $1,798.63