computer screen problems or what?

Status
Not open for further replies.

momtheclown

Solid State Member
screen goes black, then comes back on with errors, and then freeses sometimse I have to turn off the computer from the back and the restart. It mainy happends while I am on the Internet and at different time frames...

OK, give us some basic information.

What operating system are you running? WHat are your system specs? Are you usig onboard graphics, or a graphics card? Has anything else been acting up of late?

Thanx.

I am new at this so here goes.. windows xp

sorry my screen went black froze and now is working again....

where would I find out where the names of all the stuff is?

Operating System
Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 (build 2600)

System Model Enclosure Type: Desktop

Processor a
1.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
8 kilobyte primary memory cache
256 kilobyte secondary memory cache

Main Circuit Board bBoard: i845
Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
BIOS: Award Software International, Inc. 6.00 PG 01/15/2002

display
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5500 [Display adapter]
ViewSonic A90f [Monitor] (17.7"vis, s/n 32L020101019, January 2002)

Multimedia
CMI8738/C3DX PCI Audio Device
Standard Game Port

While just trying to copy paste this information the screen went black then back on froze. I had to click off of this screen to the other screen and then back onto this screen to get it unfrozen and then it would go black and then come back on....

It is crazy.... trying to even get this typed in....

Bye the way thanks for your help

Microsoft was no help at all after being on the phone with them for 2 hours on my cell wasting minutes and getting no where...

Open up Device Manager (START--> CONTROL PANEL--> SYSTEM--> HARDWARE tab--> DEVICE MANAGER). Click the "+" in front of "Display adapters" and then double-click "NVIDIA GeForce FX 5500".

Look at what it says in the box labelled "Device Status". If it doesn't say:
This device is working properly.