just wanna know a few things

Status
Not open for further replies.

ice_snuff

Baseband Member
just wanna say one thing before i start. yes i am a noob :eek: :( :eek: :confused: :p so please spare me the pc talk

ok here i go

1.what is overclocking?
2.what are all the parts you need to build a pc?
3.why does everyone hate macs?
4.what are those hard drive configuration things(raid 0, ATA)?
5.do all mobo's fit all cases?
6.how come amd's are better than intels even though they have less clock speed?
7. why does ATI have such a crap logo?
8.is there anyway to check things like what type of agp slot i have and what type ram my pc takes?

Thanks alot:D

1.what is overclocking?
- Overclocking is increasing the clock speed of say your cpu or your graphics card (gpu) to make it quicker, but also making it work overtime, sufficient cooling is required for this sort of thing.

-Mainboard,cpu,memory,harddisk,floppy drive,cd-rom,graphics card,soundcard,monitor,case,power supply am i forgetting anything lol

-I dont hate macs, just dont know them.

-Ive not dabbled to much in this, so i best not try to answer.

-no, you need matching form factors.

-never owned an amd so cant really elaborate on this, basically they run at lower Mhz or something but do twice the work somehow.

-:freak:

8.is there anyway to check things like what type of agp slot i have and what type ram my pc takes?
-you can install a program like 3dmark and run a detail analysis on your system. You can check your bios as well if you wish.

1. what is overclocking?
Answered, and read the Sticky in the OC Section

case
mobo
hd
cpu
gfx card
ram
optical drives
a Screw driver

Not everyone does, its just they are so expensive that most people resent Apple.

Raid is taking 2harddrives and combining them for faster speeds or seomething.
There are 3 types of cases, MiniATX, MidATX, FullATX. You need motherboards accordingly, except a miniatx board will fit in any case.