Does DELL have a clue? Check this out.

Status
Not open for further replies.
jebathan said:
i was reading about the new unreal 3 engine and it was saying how it was taking advantage of mutli-threading and such,

Cool I was right then :).

desiboi said:
Man, what type of game will use multi threading? Some ultra high quality action game that comes with 9 DVD discs?

Man, even Microsoft Word has mutl-threading (ever notice the autosave feature for example? :p). I am not a game programmer, so I don't know for sure, but I am presuming that when 2 characters are jumping around on the screen with guns blazing, they program it as 2 different threads managed by the game engine or the OS.

My guess is that by "multi-threading" they mean more like processor level multi-threading. Don't know how they would go about using this in the future (being not a game programmer and all :)). But I know that Kernel level threads (managed by OS) are more effective than User threads (managed by app). So maybe processor level threads are better than both.. Should fire off an email to my buddy at EA.

That's a CRAZY idea!! Other character use different threads.lol. But still, single threaded can do that too, without any lags. Maybe it's when 600+ people are shooting at you, with their bazookas and machine guns blazing, with high quality sound. [Meh? just a guess].