computer 'expansion' question

Status
Not open for further replies.

little a

In Runtime
hello all,

total cpu noob here so if my question sounds completely lame, you know why (not that i needed to clarify).

anyhow, the situation is as follows. i have an older (purchased in '99) sony laptop (pcg-fx150k: pentium III 733, 384MB, windows 2000, etc.) that has been nothing but steady and reliable. bulletproof in fact. but i'm finding it somewhat slow for what i'm doing these days (mostly ripping my entire music collection) and the hard drive is getting a little crowded.

what options do i have with this unit as far as 'expanding' its capabilities? or am i better off buying a desktop kit and putting something together more suited to my needs? TIA

a

Yo could do a format and clean install of the operating system to clean it up (back up all of your stuff or corse)
you coluld get a External hard drive for more storage

zimon said:
Yo could do a format and clean install of the operating system to clean it up (back up all of your stuff or corse)
you coluld get a External hard drive for more storage

thank you for the suggestion.

yes, i thought about the external HD and erasing everything. i have three issues with that though. one, it doesn't really solve the processor speed issue (are there any options that address this issue?). two, my memory can only go up to 512 (or something like that). three, for the money of an external HD (what, like $100-150 for a decent one?) i get a good chunk of a new system. they have a couple of decent desktops selling cheap (even cheaper if i can get my hands on something without software). the real problem i think is always going to be the processor speed and memory limitation. an external HD could help though.

a

You cant upgrade the system memory past 512mb? i allways figured you could get around a gig in laptops.... if lucky with the old ones..